Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Over the last week there’s been nothing but Steve Jobs on media everywhere in the world. By the time this hits print, millions of words will have been written on one of the greatest entrepreneurs that the world has ever seen.

I must confess that I was a late convert to the cult of the Mac, buying my first MacBook Pro five years ago. My earliest interaction with a Mac was in college in 1994 where I didn’t quite ‘feel’ the OS.

Fast forward to the year 2000 when I was trading equities and Apple’s stock was trading at $30; a friend who worked at a research firm in London told me to put my own money in the company at that time. Naturally, I did no such thing given what was happening to global markets. Fast forward to the night before Steve Jobs died when Apple stock was trading at $377. And this is after several stock splits over the past decade.

For me Steve Jobs was an entrepreneur who disrupted industries and created value for his shareholders and his customers with a regularity that is the envy of any captain of industry. If today there are no record stores to be found, it’s because Mr Jobs envisioned it so. Today, if musicians and software developers have bypassed labels and publishers and are getting 70% of the revenues, it’s because Steve Jobs was behind the creation of the App Store ecosystem.

Steve Jobs failed at plenty too, but the lessons he took away from failure he turned to his advantage in his next venture. His perseverance, attention to detail, and his dogged belief in what he set out to achieve are qualities which should be emulated at best. The world of innovation is poorer without him today.

— Shakir Husain
The writer is CEO, Creative Chaos.

First published in the Adbuzzzz Section of The DAWN National Weekend Advertiser on October 16, 2011

